Featured Movin’ Mama: Jessica

Meet Jessica!

image1Jessica is a 27-year old, stay-at-home (Movin’) Mama living outside of Boston with her husband and 4-year old son. Some of her favorite past-times include sewing, running and spending time by her backyard fire pit with her loved ones…gotta take advantage of these awesome New England summer nights while we can, right?! We asked Jessica what she’s doing to Live Well today, and here’s what she shared with us…

How do you typically start your day?

I typically start my day after my husband leaves for work, when me and my son sit down for breakfast. If it’s a nice day outside, we typically like to go for long walks around our neighbohood and stop at either the local playground or beach to play for a while before heading home.

What is your favorite workout right now, and why?

My favorite workout right now is definitely running. I’ve been running for 3 years now and I love it! I always run outside, no matter what the weather entails. I currently try to run about 5-6 days each week. It immediately relieves any stress I have, and makes me feel instantly energized and healthy.

*Check out an easy-to-follow 8-week running plan from Popsugar.com

Can you share a couple of your fitness goals and how you plan to track your progress?

My fitness goals are to spend time to ensure that I am eating as healthy as possible. Also, I want to work on my upper body strength, to get my upper body to match the strength that I have now in my legs thanks to running.

What has been your biggest challenge with wellness since the birth of your son?

My biggest challenge of wellness since the birth of my son is making sure that I’m making time in my busy day to workout and eat healthy, as there are often times where I find it extremely hard to leave and go for a run (mostly because I hate missing out on spending time with him and my husband!). And when we are out and on-the-go, it can be tough to try and eat as healthy as I’d like to.

I am overcoming this challenge by realizing that my runs are essential to relieving my stress and keeping my sanity after spending the day with just me and my active 4-year old! I am eating healthier by making home-cooked meals that my whole family enjoys and by having my son eat healthy as well definitely makes it a lot easier!

What do you do when you want to have “Me” time?

When I want to have Me-time I usually go for a run, go shopping, have a friend over for some wine, or me and my husband love to sit in our backyard by the fire.

Who do you lean on most for support when it comes to wellness, and why?

I mostly lean on my husband right now for support when it comes to wellness, because he understands and appreciates how important it is to me, and does whatever he can to make sure that I am able to take time as much as possible to workout and stay healthy.

What do you love most about being a new mom so far?

So far, what I love the most about being a mom is watching my son develop his personality and knowing that I have a huge part in him determining what kind of person he wants to be. There is nothing more inspiring to me than that!

What is one piece of candid advice you’d like to share with other new moms regarding general wellness?

Some candid advice I can share with new moms regarding general wellness is to always make time for yourself, and try not to let the stress of being a mom overwhelm you too much. Also, sleep schedules and bedtime routines are wonderful ways to take the stress out of nap/bedtime, and give you more planned time for yourself!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s